Navigation and service

Licensing service for out-of-commerce works (VW-LiS)

he change to the Law on the Safeguarding of Copyright and Related Protection Rights which came into force on 1 April 2014 added greater flexibility to the handling of out-of-commerce publications with regard to the digitisation and provision of publications on the Web. The main focus of the German National Library's holdings is on the 20th century, accordingly it has a clear interest in making use of these new options.
The DNB developed a licensing service intended to help the library itself and other institutions to search and apply for usage licences for out-of-commerce publications via the relevant collecting society (Verwertungsgesellschaft (VG) Wort) and the German Patent and Trademark Office (DPMA).

Legal basis

Under certain conditions, regulated in Article § 51, § 52 VGG and in the framework agreement on the use out-of-commerce publications in books, VG Wort may issue a usage licence for an out-of-commerce publication: these must be items which were published before 1 January 1966 in books, specialist journals, newspapers, magazines or in other documents which are part of the physical holdings of the institution applying for the licence. The law covers the holdings of publicly accessible libraries, educational institutions, museums, archives and other facilities active in safeguarding the film or sound recording heritage. The publication in question must be out-of-commerce within the book trade, i.e. it should no longer be offered by any publisher. The framework agreement grants the holder duplication and public accessing rights exclusively for use in digital libraries, however it excludes use for commercial purposes.

Licensing and registration

VG Wort grants licences for the use of out-of-commerce publications upon payment of a fee. Before a licence can be issued for a publication, it must first be entered in the DPMA's register of out-of-commerce publications. If no objection is raised by a rights owner within the legally stipulated period of six weeks, the licence can be issued.
The registration and remuneration costs are specified in Article 7 of the framework agreement for the use of out-of-commerce works in books and in the ordinance on the register of out-of-commerce publications.

Licensing service for out-of-commerce works of the German National Library

The DNB developed a service to help privileged institutions retrieve and obtain licenses for out-of-commerce publications via the VG Wort collecting society. The preconditions for using the licensing service are that the institution be registered with the DNB for a service user account, and that the institution has signed the framework agreement.

The licencing service facilitates the tracing of out-of-commerce publications:
Usage licences can only be purchased for publications which are out-of-commerce. The DNB performs an automatic check of book trade lists to determine the availability status of its publication holdings. Institutions can determine the availability status of the publications they are planning to obtain licenses for by undertaking a catalogue search in the portal or by uploading lists of up to 1,000 titles for the DNB to process. From the search result they can click a link which takes them directly to the licence application page.

The licensing service simplifies the purchase of licences:
Once out-of-commerce publications have been identified, the licensing service allows users to apply for licences for the works in question, assuming that the minimum bibliographic requirements are fulfilled (Article § 52 VGG). The application can be made either for individual titles or for a bundled, more extensive set of titles. This is performed using the interface of the licensing service; the applications are then sent directly to the VG Wort collecting society. Upon receiving the licence application, VG Wort automatically enters all the requested works into the DPMA register.
Institutions can monitor the progress of their applications via their user account. The licence is finally issued directly by VG Wort to the institution submitting the application. Whether or not a licence has been issued or rejected can also be seen in the user account.

The process has largely been automated, keeping the amount of effort involved to a minimum for all parties. The DNB provides the licensing service free of charge.

Last update: 20.07.2016

Short-URL: http://www.langzeitarchivierung.de/EN/vwlis

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Lizenzierungsservice Vergriffene Werke (VW-LiS)

Für die Digitalisierung und Bereitstellung von Druckwerken im Web eröffnen sich durch § 51 und § 52 des Verwertungsgesellschaftengesetzes (VGG) bezüglich der vergriffenen Werke neue Handlungsspielräume. Angesichts ihres Bestandsschwerpunkts im 20. Jahrhundert hat die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek (DNB) ein starkes Interesse daran, diese neuen Spielräume zu nutzen.
Aus diesem Grund hat die DNB einen Lizenzierungsservice aufgebaut, der ihr und anderen Institutionen die Recherche und Beantragung von Nutzungslizenzen für vergriffene Druckwerke über die zuständigen Verwertungsgesellschaften erleichtern soll. Sie kooperiert dabei mit der Verwertungsgesellschaft (VG) Wort und dem Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt (DPMA).

Gesetzliche Grundlage

Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen, die in § 51 und § 52 VGG sowie im Rahmenvertrag zur Nutzung von vergriffenen Werken in Büchern geregelt sind, kann für ein vergriffenes Druckwerk eine Nutzungslizenz durch die VG Wort eingeräumt werden: Es muss sich um ein Werk handeln, das vor dem 1. Januar 1966 in Büchern, Fachzeitschriften, Zeitungen, Zeitschriften oder in anderen Schriften veröffentlicht wurde und das sich im körperlichen Bestand der Institution befindet, die eine Lizenz erwirbt. Das Gesetz umfasst die Bestände von öffentlich zugänglichen Bibliotheken, Bildungseinrichtungen, Museen, Archiven und von im Bereich des Film- oder Tonerbes tätigen Einrichtungen. Das betreffende Werk muss im Buchhandel vergriffen sein, es darf also kein verlegerisches Angebot mehr existieren. Der Rahmenvertrag räumt das Recht zur Vervielfältigung und öffentlichen Zugänglichmachung ausschließlich zum Zweck der Nutzung im Rahmen von digitalen Bibliotheken ein und schließt eine Nutzung zu gewerblichen Zwecken aus.

Lizenzierung und Registrierung

Lizenzen für die Nutzung vergriffener Werke werden von der VG Wort gegen die Zahlung einer Vergütung eingeräumt. Bevor die Lizenzierung für ein Werk erfolgen kann, muss dieses zunächst im Register vergriffener Werke des DPMA eingetragen werden. Erfolgt innerhalb einer gesetzlich festgelegten Frist von sechs Wochen kein Widerspruch durch einen Rechtsinhaber, kann die Lizenzierung erfolgen.
Die Kosten für Registrierung und Vergütung sind in § 7 des Rahmenvertrags zur Nutzung von vergriffenen Werken in Büchern sowie in der Verordnung über das Register für vergriffene Werke geregelt.

Lizenzierungsservice Vergriffene Werke der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek

Die DNB hat einen Lizenzierungsservice aufgebaut, der privilegierten Institutionen die Recherche und Beantragung vergriffener Druckwerke über die VG Wort ermöglicht. Voraussetzungen für die Nutzung des Lizenzierungsservices sind die Registrierung der Institution für ein Benutzungskonto des Services bei der DNB sowie der Beitritt der Institution zum Rahmenvertrag.

Der Lizenzierungsservice erleichtert die Ermittlung vergriffener Werke:
Um für ein Werk eine Nutzungslizenz erwerben zu können, muss es vergriffen sein. Durch einen automatisierten Abgleich gegen Verzeichnisse des Buchhandels ermittelt die DNB den Lieferbarkeitsstatus für die Werke in ihrem Bestand. Sowohl über die Katalogsuche im Portal als auch über den Upload von Listen von bis zu 1.000 Titeln kann eine Institution den Lieferbarkeitsstatus der Werke feststellen, für die sie eine Lizenzierung plant, und direkt vom Suchergebnis den Schritt zur Lizenzbeantragung gehen.

Der Lizenzierungsservice erleichtert den Lizenzerwerb:
Sind vergriffene Titel identifiziert, bietet der Lizenzierungsservice die Möglichkeit, Anträge für eine Lizenzierung der betreffenden Werke zu stellen, sofern die bibliografischen Mindestanforderungen erfüllt sind (§ 52 VGG). Die Beantragung kann für einzelne Titel, aber auch für ein umfangreicheres Titelset gebündelt stattfinden. Dies geschieht aus der Oberfläche des Lizenzierungsservice heraus, dabei werden die Anträge direkt an die VG Wort übermittelt. Mit dem Eingang des Lizenzantrags veranlasst die VG Wort zudem automatisch die Eintragung aller beantragten Werke im Register des DPMA.
In ihrem Benutzungskonto kann eine Institution verfolgen, ob sich ihre Anträge noch in Bearbeitung befinden. Die letztendliche Einräumung der Lizenz erfolgt direkt zwischen VG Wort und beantragender Institution. Ob eine Lizenz eingeräumt oder die Lizenzerteilung abgelehnt wurde, wird ebenfalls im Benutzungskonto angezeigt.

Durch die weitgehende Automatisierung des Verfahrens werden die Aufwände für alle Seiten klein gehalten. Der Lizenzierungsservice wird seitens der DNB kostenfrei angeboten.

Letzte Änderung: 20.07.2016

Kurz-URL: http://www.langzeitarchivierung.de/vwlis

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main