Navigation and service

National ISSN Centre for Germany

The ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) is an internationally binding standard number as defined in ISO 3297. It provides concise and unique identification of serial publications all over the world. As a unique standard code for identification, the ISSN supports the automatic administration of serial publications and data transmission. Searches are made easier by the existence of a unique identifier for each publication.

Please note that the National ISSN Centre for Germany is only responsible for publications, the first place of publication of which is in Germany. For publications issued outside Germany, the relevant ISSN centre can be determined on the website of the International ISSN Centre.

In the case of a newly released serial publication being delivered to the German National Library under the legal deposit regulation, most print publications and publications on physical data carriers (CD-ROMs, DVDs) are issued an ISSN

  • the first place of publication of which is in Germany and
  • which meet the criteria of a serial publication (journals, yearbooks, annual reports, serials)

without any need for further action. In these cases it is not necessary to send a separate request for an ISSN. The ISSN assigned by the National ISSN Centre for Germany can be searched for in the portal of the German National Library.

The bibliographic data of the publication and the ISSN are listed in

A formal written request for ISSN assignment must still be sent to for publications that appear online.

An ISSN can also be issued retrospectively for a publication that has already been released. This, too, requires an informal written request for ISSN allocation.

We also give large customers the possibility of having an ISSN issued before the release of the first edition (pre-assignment). Individual applicants can generally only receive an ISSN after the publication has been released.

For pre-assignment please send us the necessary documentation together with a brief note, preferably by e-mail.

Requirements are

  • title page and draft imprint,
  • the expected date of publication,
  • the planned publication frequency and
  • details of whether the title will be issued in a print and/or online edition.

Applications for pre-assignment should not be made more than six months before the planned release of a publication.

We do not issue ISSNs before the release of publications not released by the publishing trade.

In cases where a publication changes its title, a new ISSN generally has to be issued. Title changes are defined in the internationally valid "ISSN Manual". A new ISSN is also required if the publication changes its medium, e.g. from a printed to an online publication. In such cases please contact the National ISSN Centre for Germany ().

The ISSN Network consists of the national centres and the International ISSN Centre based in Paris. It coordinates the work of the national centres in over 80 countries. Over 1.9 million ISSNs and the corresponding titles together with a concise bibliographical description are held in the international database, the ISSN Portal. The number is growing daily.

The ISSN is issued by national centres.

The National ISSN Centre for Germany is located at the German National Library:

German National Library
National ISSN-Centre for Germany
Adickesallee 1
60322 Frankfurt
Tel. + 49-69-1525-1481
Fax + 49-69-1525-1414
E-Mail:

Last update: 30.10.2017

Short-URL: http://www.langzeitarchivierung.de/EN/issn

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Nationales ISSN-Zentrum für Deutschland

Die ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) ist eine international verbindliche Standardnummer nach ISO 3297. Sie dient weltweit der kurzen und unverwechselbaren Identifikation von Publikationen, die fortlaufend erscheinen. Als eindeutiger Standardcode zur Identifizierung unterstützt die ISSN die automatisierte Verwaltung von fortlaufenden Publikationen und den Datenversand. Die Recherche wird erleichtert, weil ein eindeutiger Identifier für diese Publikation vorhanden ist.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Nationale ISSN-Zentrum für Deutschland nur für Publikationen, deren erster Erscheinungsort in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland liegt, zuständig ist. Wenn die Publikation außerhalb Deutschlands erscheint, kann das zuständige ISSN-Zentrum auf der Homepage des Internationalen ISSN-Zentrums ermittelt werden.

Nach Ablieferung einer neu erschienenen fortlaufenden Publikation an die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek im Rahmen der Pflichtablieferung erhalten die meisten Print-Publikationen und Publikationen auf physischen Datenträgern (CD-ROMs, DVDs),

  • deren erster Erscheinungsort in Deutschland liegt und
  • die den Kriterien einer fortlaufenden Publikation (Zeitschriften, Jahrbücher, Jahresberichte, Schriftenreihen) entsprechen

ohne weiteres Zutun eine ISSN. In diesen Fällen ist ein zusätzlicher Antrag auf ISSN-Zuteilung nicht erforderlich. Die vom Nationalen ISSN-Zentrum für Deutschland zugeteilte ISSN kann im Portal der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek recherchiert werden.

Die bibliografischen Angaben der Publikation und die ISSN werden in

angezeigt.

Für Publikationen, die online erscheinen, ist weiterhin ein formloser schriftlicher Antrag auf ISSN-Zuteilung an erforderlich.

Die Zuteilung einer ISSN ist auch retrospektiv für eine bereits erschienene Publikation möglich. Auch hierfür benötigen wir einen formlosen schriftlichen Antrag auf ISSN-Zuteilung.

Großkunden bieten wir die Möglichkeit der Zuteilung einer ISSN vor dem Erscheinen der ersten Ausgabe an (Vorauszuteilung). Einzelantragsteller können in der Regel nur eine ISSN nach Erscheinen der Publikation erhalten.

Für eine Vorauszuteilung senden Sie uns bitte die notwendigen Unterlagen mit einem kurzen Anschreiben bevorzugt per E-Mail zu.

Benötigt werden

  • Titelblatt- und Impressumsentwurf,
  • der voraussichtliche Erscheinungstermin,
  • die geplante Erscheinungsfrequenz und
  • Angaben, ob der Titel als Print- und/oder Online-Ausgabe erscheinen soll.

Ein Antrag auf Vorauszuteilung sollte grundsätzlich nicht früher als sechs Monate vor dem geplanten Erscheinen einer Publikation gestellt werden.

Für Veröffentlichungen, die außerhalb des Buchhandels erscheinen, vergeben wir grundsätzlich keine ISSN vor Erscheinen einer Publikation.

Bei einer Titeländerung ist in der Regel die Vergabe einer neuen ISSN erforderlich. Die Titeländerung wird durch das international geltende "ISSN Manual" definiert. Eine neue ISSN ist auch erforderlich, wenn sich die Erscheinungsform der Publikation ändert, z. B. von Print- zu Online-Publikation. Bitte nehmen Sie dazu Kontakt mit dem Nationalen ISSN-Zentrum für Deutschland auf ().

Das ISSN-Netzwerk besteht aus nationalen Zentren und dem Internationalen ISSN-Zentrum mit Sitz in Paris. Es koordiniert in über 80 Ländern der Welt die Arbeit der nationalen Zentren. In der internationalen Datenbank, dem ISSN-Portal werden über 1,9 Millionen ISSN und die dazugehörigen Titel mit einer kurzen bibliografischen Beschreibung nachgewiesen. Diese Zahl wächst täglich.

Die Vergabe der ISSN erfolgt über nationale Zentren.

Das Nationale ISSN-Zentrum für Deutschland ist bei der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek angesiedelt:

Deutsche Nationalbibliothek
Nationales ISSN-Zentrum für Deutschland
Adickesallee 1
60322 Frankfurt am Main
Tel.: + 49 69 1525-1481
Fax: +49 69 1525-1481
E-Mail:

Letzte Änderung: 05.10.2017

Kurz-URL: http://www.langzeitarchivierung.de/issn

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main