Navigation and service

hbz assumes chair of Committee for Library Standards

Press release:  20.6.2013

The Committee for Library Standards elected Dr. Silke Schomburg, the current head of Hochschulbibliothekszentrum Nord Rhein-Westfalen (hbz), as its new chairperson at its meeting on 18 June 2013.

The previous chairperson Berndt Dugall (director of Universitätsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg, Frankfurt am Main) is retiring in the autumn and, following the election held on 18 June 2013, will be succeeded by Dr. Silke Schomburg (head of Hochschulbibliothekszentrum des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (hbz), Cologne). The position of chairperson is held for three years with the possibility of re-election thereafter.

The main task of the Committee for Library Standards is to support the standardisation of cataloguing, formats and interfaces in libraries. The members constitute a cooperative alliance of major scientific libraries in the Federal Republic of Germany, the regional library networks of the Federal Republic of Germany, representatives of the Austrian and Swiss library systems, the public libraries of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany, ekz Bibliotheksservice GmbH and the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. This cross-national coordination body is responsible for the aforementioned fields of library standardisation and makes fundamental decisions on technical issues.

Further information about the Committee for Library Standards and the latest information on standardisation work

Contact person

Press spokesperson

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main