Navigation and service

Institut für Museumsforschung

Logo Institut für Museumsforschung

The Institute for Museum Research is a national institute of research and documentation concentrating on aspects which are common to all museums, regardless of the type of collection. It provides services for museums in Germany in the areas of research, application-oriented coordination and documentation. Further information about the work fields and research services are presented in the Tasks section. The Institute provides supplementary support to that offered by the regional and in some cases sovereign museum authorities and advisory centres of the federal states.
The research projects are conducted in cooperation with experts from relevant disciplines (social sciences, education, engineering and natural sciences, etc.). The projects are oriented towards the research needs of museums as well as universal museum work fields and practical issues.
The Institute for Museum Research was founded in 1979 as a department of the National Museums in Berlin which reports to the Director General. It is thus an institution of the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz.

Competences and priorities in the area of long-term preservation

With regard to long-term preservation, the Institute is dedicated to answering the question of how to preserve relevant data on a long-term basis in smaller and medium-size facilities with limited know-how.
Another focal point is the preservation of the continually growing quantities of digitally-produced image, audio and video data being increasingly amassed e.g. in photo collections or film museums.


Contact

Prof. Monika Hagedorn Saupe
Institut für Museumsforschung
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz
In der Halde 1
14195 Berlin
Phone +49 30 - 8301460
Fax: +49 30 - 8301504

Dr. Stefan Rohde-Enslin
Institut für Museumsforschung
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz
In der Halde 1
14195 Berlin
Phone +49 30 - 8301495
Fax: +49 30 - 8301504

Last update: 05.01.2017

This Page

Navigation und Service

Institut für Museumsforschung

Logo Institut für Museumsforschung

Das Institut für Museumsforschung ist eine bundesweit tätige Forschungs- und Dokumentationseinrichtung mit Konzentration auf sammlungsübergreifende Aspekte des Museumswesens. Es erbringt Leistungen für die Museen in Deutschland in den Bereichen Forschung, anwendungsorientierte Vermittlung und Dokumentation. Weitere Informationen zu den Arbeitsgebieten und Forschungsleistungen werden im Abschnitt Aufgaben dargestellt. Das Institut arbeitet in Ergänzung zu den regionalen, teilweise hoheitlich tätigen Museumsämtern und Fachberatungsstellen der Bundesländer.
Die Forschungsvorhaben werden in Kooperation mit Fachleuten aus dafür relevanten wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen bearbeitet (Sozialwissenschaften, Erziehungswissenschaft, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften etc.). Die Projekte sind am Forschungsbedarf der Museen sowie an übergreifenden museumskundlichen Arbeitsfeldern und praxisrelevanten Fragestellungen orientiert.
Das Institut für Museumsforschung wurde 1979 gegründet und als Abteilung der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin dem Generaldirektor unterstellt. Es ist damit eine Einrichtung der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz.


Kompetenzen und Schwerpunkte im Bereich der Langzeitarchivierung

Das Institut widmet sich - in Hinsicht auf Langzeitarchivierung - der Fragestellung, wie in kleineren Einrichtungen und solchen mittlerer Größe bei begrenztem datentechnischem Know-How eine Langzeitarchivierung der relevanten Daten möglich ist.
Weiterer Themenschwerpunkt ist die Bewahrung der mehr und mehr digital erzeugten Bild-, Audio- und Video-Daten, wie sie beispielsweise in Fotosammlungen oder Filmmuseen vermehrt auftreten.


Ansprechpartner

Prof. Monika Hagedorn Saupe
Institut für Museumsforschung
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz
In der Halde 1
14195 Berlin
Tel: +49 30 - 8301460, Fax: +49 (0) 30 - 8301504

Dr. Stefan Rohde-Enslin
Institut für Museumsforschung
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz
In der Halde 1
14195 Berlin
Tel: +49 30 - 8301495, Fax: +49 30 - 8301504

Letzte Änderung: 08.03.2017

Diese Seite