Navigation and service

PDF Association

Logo PDF/A

About PDF/A

PDF/A is ISO standard 19005 for long-term preservation in PDF format. It is a restricted version of PDF, a standardised profile for the use of PDF in long-term preservation. The standard prescribes in detail what content is allowed and what is not. This and other provisions guarantee the long-term readability of documents - regardless of with which application software and on which operating system they were originally created. The benefits of PDF/A, such as the ability to conduct full-text searches, make it a preferred archiving format that has now replaced the TIFF format in numerous international authorities and companies.

About the PDF Association

The goal of the PDF Association is to promote PDF applications for digital documents that are based on open standards. Here, the international association is committed to the active transfer of knowledge and exchange of know-how and experience between all interest groups worldwide. Currently, over 100 companies and numerous experts from more than 20 countries are members of the PDF Association, which emerged from the PDF/A Competence Center founded in 2006.
The Board is composed of executives from the companies callas software GmbH, Compart AG, Crawford Technologies Inc., intarsys consulting GmbH, LuraTech Europe GmbH, and NetCentric US. The Chairman is Olaf Drümmer, Managing Director of callas software GmbH. Duff Johnson, President of NetCentric US, is Deputy Chairman.

Last update: 05.01.2017

This Page

Navigation und Service

PDF Association

Logo PDF/A

Über PDF/A

PDF/A ist der ISO-Standard 19005 für die Langzeitarchivierung im PDF-Format. Es stellt eine eingegrenzte Variante von PDF dar, ein standardisiertes Profil zur Verwendung von PDF in der Langzeitarchivierung. Der Standard schreibt detailliert vor, welche Inhalte erlaubt sind und welche nicht. Durch diese und andere Vorschriften soll eine langfristige Lesbarkeit der Dokumente garantiert sein - und zwar unabhängig davon, mit welcher Anwendungssoftware und auf welchem Betriebssystem sie ursprünglich erstellt wurden. Die Vorteile von PDF/A, wie zum Beispiel die Fähigkeit zur Volltextsuche, machen es zu einem bevorzugten Archivierungsformat, das bei zahlreichen internationalen Behörden und Unternehmen das TIFF-Format inzwischen verdrängt hat.

Über die PDF Association

Die PDF Association verfolgt das Ziel, PDF-Anwendungen für digitale Dokumente zu fördern, die auf offenen Standards basieren. Dazu setzt sich der internationale Verband für eine aktive Wissensvermittlung und den Austausch von Know-how und Erfahrungen für alle Interessengruppen weltweit ein. Derzeit sind über 100 Unternehmen und zahlreiche Experten aus mehr als 20 Ländern Mitglied der PDF Association, die aus dem 2006 gegründeten PDF/A Competence Center hervorgegangen ist.
Der Vorstand setzt sich aus Führungskräften der Unternehmen callas software GmbH, Compart AG, Crawford Technologies Inc., intarsys consulting GmbH, LuraTech Europe GmbH und NetCentric US zusammen. Vorstandsvorsitzender ist Olaf Drümmer, Geschäftsführer der callas software GmbH. Duff Johnson, President von NetCentric US, ist stellvertretender Vorstandsvorsitzender

Letzte Änderung: 08.03.2017

Diese Seite