Navigation and service

Deutsche Kinemathek

Logo Kinemathek

Collecting, preserving, cataloguing, presenting and explaining the audiovisual heritage - these have been the tasks of the Deutsche Kinemathek since its opening in 1963.

Its remit covers all matters related to film and television history such as materials on Heinz Rühmann, Werner Herzog or TV documentary maker Georg Stefan Troller, but also significant screenplays, including scripts by authors such as Carl Mayer or Christian Petzold. It also includes a film archive holding copies of more than 13,000 films, and there are over 25,000 films on video which are available for viewing. Academics and journalists use the diverse holdings for their research and searches. Film copies are viewed on-site and loaned to cinemas. 4,000 productions from 50 years of television history in the East and West can be viewed in the programme gallery. One of the largest specialist libraries in Europe is also available to visitors in the Filmhaus. A particular focus of the Kinemathek is on film in exile. The Deutsche Kinemathek stores over one million photos, 16,000 posters and 20,000 costume and architectural drawings. Since autumn 2000 some of these have been displayed at the Filmhaus am Potsdamer Platz. The permanent exhibition, including the futuristic set designs for Fritz Lang's METROPOLIS, Marlene Dietrich's make-up case or the costumes from Wolfgang Petersen's DAS BOOT, reveals something of the fascination of German film history. An equivalent exhibition focussing on German television history was then opened in 2006 - resulting in a unique combination of both media under one roof.

Since 1977, the Deutsche Kinemathek has organised the annual Retrospective and Homage events at the Berlin International Film Festival. It has also made a name for itself through numerous publications on the past and present of film and television, through special exhibitions, and through symposia featuring distinguished participants and other events.

Competences and priorities in the area of long-term preservation

The film archive of the Deutsche Kinemathek possesses almost all AV media formats used in the private and professional sectors. Long-term preservation and archiving solutions need to be defined for each of these formats.
The Deutsche Kinemathek has been actively involved in the nestor Media WG for several years now. This includes staging conferences on various topics. Appropriate IT infrastructures have been established, including a partnership with the Zuse Institute Berlin (ZIB) on the basis of a cooperation agreement. The technological framework is therefore already in place (bitstream preservation). Further fundamental projects (archiving, archive formats and format validation, workflows) are currently being planned.

Contact

Jürgen Keiper
Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen
Potsdamer Straße 2
10785 Berlin
Phone +49 30 300 903-0
Fax +49 30 300 903-13

jkeiper@deutsche-kinemathek.de
http://www.deutsche-kinemathek.de

Last update: 04.01.2017

This Page

Navigation und Service

Deutsche Kinemathek

Logo Kinemathek

Sammeln, Bewahren, Erschließen, Präsentieren und Vermitteln des audiovisuellen Erbes – das sind die Aufgaben der Deutschen Kinemathek seit ihrer Eröffnung 1963.

Gegenstand ist alles, was zur Film- und Fernsehgeschichte gehört, beispielsweise Materialien von Heinz Rühmann, Werner Herzog oder dem Fernsehdokumentaristen Georg Stefan Troller, aber auch bedeutende Drehbücher, darunter Skripte von Carl Mayer bis Christian Petzold. Ein Filmarchiv mit Kopien von mehr als 13.000 Filmen kommt hinzu, sowie ein Sichtungsbestand von über 25.000 Filmen auf Video. Wissenschaftler und Journalisten nutzen die vielfältigen Bestände für ihre Forschung und Recherchen. Filmkopien werden vor Ort gesichtet und an Kinos verliehen. In der Programmgalerie können 4.000 Produktionen aus 50 Jahren Fernsehgeschichte in Ost und West angeschaut werden. Zudem steht den Besuchern im Filmhaus eine der größten Fachbibliotheken Europas zur Verfügung. Ein besonderer Arbeitsschwerpunkt der Kinemathek ist die Beschäftigung mit dem Film-Exil. Über eine Million Fotos, 16.000 Plakate, etwa 20.000 Kostüm- und Architekturskizzen werden von der Deutschen Kinemathek aufbewahrt. Ein Teil davon ist seit Herbst 2000 im Filmhaus am Potsdamer Platz ausgestellt. Die futuristischen Set-Entwürfe zu Fritz Langs METROPOLIS, Marlene Dietrichs Schminkkoffer oder die Kostüme aus Wolfgang Petersens DAS BOOT erzählen in der Ständigen Ausstellung von der Faszination deutscher Filmgeschichte. Im Jahr 2006 eröffnete daneben ein Pendant zur deutschen Fernsehgeschichte – eine in Europa einzigartige Kombination beider Medien unter einem Dach.

Seit 1977 betreut die Deutsche Kinemathek alljährlich die filmhistorische Retrospektive und die Hommage der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin. Einen Namen macht sie sich ebenso durch zahlreiche Publikationen zur Geschichte und Gegenwart von Film und Fernsehen, durch Sonderausstellungen sowie hochkarätig besetzte Symposien und andere Veranstaltungen.

Kompetenzen und Schwerpunkte im Bereich der Langzeitarchivierung

In ihrem Filmarchiv besitzt die Deutsche Kinemathek nahezu alle Medienformate des AV-Bereichs, vom privaten bis zum professionellen Sektor. Für all diese Formate werden Lösungen zur langfristigen Sicherung und Archivierung definiert werden müssen.
Seit mehreren Jahren engagiert sich die Deutsche Kinemathek bereits in der AG Media von nestor. Hierzu zählt auch die Ausrichtung von themenspezifischen Kongressen. Seitens der IT wurden entsprechende Infrastrukturen aufgebaut, zum Beispiel die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Zuse-Institut für Informationstechnik Berlin (ZIB) im Rahmen eines Kooperationsvertrages. Damit stehen die technologischen Voraussetzungen bereit (bitstream preservation). Weitergehende Umsetzungen (Archivierung, Archivformate und Formatvalidierung, workflows) gehören zu den grundlegenden Aufgaben und sind in Planung.

Ansprechpartner

Jürgen Keiper
Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen
Potsdamer Straße 2
10785 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 903-0
Fax: +49 30 300 903-13

jkeiper@deutsche-kinemathek.de
http://www.deutsche-kinemathek.de

Letzte Änderung: 15.03.2017

Diese Seite