Navigation and service

Deutsche Nationalbibliografie, new Series O "Online Publications" from January 2010

The German National Library has introduced Series O for online publications released from the 2010 bibliographic year.

Series O includes:

  • all online publications, including journals
  • print-on-demand publications based on a digital master
  • online publications in the field of music

Data carriers and media combinations are not included.

Monograph title records provided in Series O are not generated by the German National Library; these are generally based on data provided by the depositors themselves. Series O titles are, however, categorised by DDC subject class and contain rights data.
Series O is provided in MARC 21 and MARC21-xml formats on the server each month for retrieval, free of charge. No printed version is offered.
As of Volume 1 2010, Series O titles are no longer listed in any other series. This mainly concerns Series H, but to a lesser extent all other series, too. The "traditional" series assignment which the above publication types would previously have received is, however, still provided as supplementary information in the data record. (See the circular on this topic).

A further effect is that the continuously rising number of online publications does not enlarge the quantities of the other bibliography series. The assignment of online resources to Series O allows them to be retrieved from a single aggregate source.

The current delivery of Series O is available here.

Last update: 01.02.2016


This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main